Despite being eligible to seek another four-year stint on the IOC Athletes’ Commission, Zimbabwe Olympian Kirsty Coventry will not be standing for re-election to the body.

The Olympic swimmer was elected as the Chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission during the 132nd International Olympic Committee session in 2018 replacing Angela Ruggiero.

30 candidates will be contesting to be elected to the Athletes Commission at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. The list of candidates has already been approved by the IOC Executive Board.

Even though she is not seeking re-election Coventry is likely going to be granted permanent membership by the IOC, since she was appointed head of the Coordination Commission for the 2022 Summer Youth Olympic Game in Dakar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here