The World Netball and the Commonwealth Games Federation this week announced the six teams that have been granted automatic qualification in the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.

A statement from World Netball says Australia, New Zealand, England, Jamaica, South Africa and Malawi were official invited to the Commonwealth Games and all six of them have accepted the invitation.

Twelve nations will take part in the tournament, and the other six remaining spots will be determined by World Netball rankings on the 31st of January 2022.

World Netball President Liz Nicholl CBE congratulated the six teams and assured us that she will be working closely with the Commonwealth Games Federation on announcing the remaining six teams.

“I look forward to seeing all 12 teams compete on this world stage in Birmingham next year and watching the athletes embrace this opportunity to compete at this important multi-sport event.”

Commonwealth Games Federation president Dame Louise Martin said he is expecting more excitement and entertainment at Birmingham 2022.

“We are already shaping up for an exciting competition. Netball was one of the highlights of Gold Coast 2018. There is no doubt that we can expect more excitement and entertainment at Birmingham 2022, in front of passionate fans, and we look forward to working closely with World Netball to confirm the six remaining spots for this prestigious event.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here