Zimbabwe Chess Federation yesterday announced the team that will participate in the Zone 4.5 team chess championship.

The team is comprised of 14 players and  majority of them took part in the FIDE Online Olympiad  in August.

In the open section Roy Mwadzura, Vitalis Mapuranga and Cyril Chigodo retain their position whilst Tapiwa Chikwavaire has been and replaced by Kudakwashe Sibanda with Tapiwa Gora been added as a substitute

Linda Shaba, Christine Makwena, Kudzanai Charinda and Tatenda Zengeni will be joined by Colletah Wakuruwarerwa in the ladies section.

Farai Hamandishe a former African schools chess champion  has been paired by Taurayi Mazhinji U-20 boys category with All African Chess Champion Leeroy Mpala being dropped.

Nothing changes in the U-20 girls category as both Rumbidzai Mawire and Refiloe Mudodo retain their positions.

The zonal online team event will kick off on 16 October and end on the 18th. And 7 out of the ten countries expected to participate in the competition have confirmed participation. Four main team winners will share an amount of US$800.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here