Hockey Association of Zimbabwe will have the opportunity to display its next group of young talent over the coming months as they will be participating in the Women’s FIH Hockey Junior World Cup.

Sixteen of the countries the best young female players will be competing in the Women’s FIH Junior World Cup, which will be held for the first time on African soil in South Africa.

Also, read Zimbabwe U-21 ladies hockey team automatically qualifies for the Junior World Cup

Zimbabwe, who will be making their 4th appearance in the prestigious youth tournament, has announced their final twenty-three member squads which includes five non-travelling members.

The Terblanche sisters Alexei and Natalie, Lillian Pope, Georgia Allardice, Jenna Mathieson, and Simone Herbst will return to the junior team after helping the senior women team to win bronze at the African Hockey Cup of Nations in 2019. The six will join some of their teammates who also featured for Zimbabwe Under 20 girls team at the African Games and Youth Olympic Games.

Also, read Zimbabwe Women Field Hockey Team Win Bronze Medal In The African Hockey Cup Of Nations

Tendayi Maredza the coach of the Zimbabwe ladies hockey team told us that he is backing on the player’s experience heading to the World Cup.

“Some players have played at the Youth Olympics whilst some of them have represented the senior women’s national team at the Olympic qualifiers in Cape Town, so we are backing on the player’s experience.”

With limited opportunities to train physically, the team started camp unconventional before they recently moved to face training recently. The team has four training sessions weekly which includes fitness sessions and game sessions whereby they play against the senior ladies team and the mixed team of U-21 players.

The ninth edition of the Women’s FIH Hockey Junior World Cup will be hosted in Potchefstroom, South Africa from the 5th to the 16th of December this year.

Travelling list
Georgia Allardice, Mercedes Beekes, Mutsa Beer (C), Hayley Clark, Tinodiwanashe Elijah, Simone Herbst (VP), Jorja Jones, Courtney Lowe, Lavender Mandoza, Jenna Mathleson, Mufaro Muzambani, Mazvita Mtausi-Gwaradzimba, Khanyisile Mzizi, Lillian Pope, Alexei Terblanche, Natalie Terblanche, Taya Trivella, Rumbidzai Zimuto

Non-travelling squad
Stembile Chikoore, Tyla Falkenberg, Marisa Marques, Tatenda Maswera, Gugulethu Sibanda


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here