Winners of the 2018 Annual National Sports Awards in best sports administration category Rowing Association Of Zimbabwe have announced their Junior National team that will represent the country in the World Rowing Championship and the Royal Canadian Henley Regatta.

2018 Jnr Sportswomen of the year Lorryn Bass and ANSA team of the winner Patrick and Rory Plunket are the big and professional rowers that are part of the squad.

Savannah Hendrickse who won a bronze medal at the Africa Youth Games will be making her second return to team Zimbabwe. St Georges rower David Maonga who also impressed on his debut youth Olympic games last year has been included in the squad.

RAZ has also announced that they will have a development side that will be training with the national team this been done to help them improve technics, strength and early mentorship. Need I remind you Rowing Association of Zimbabwe won the ANSA Sports development awards and they continued to promote junior rowers.


Taremakedzwa CHIDAWANYIKA – Millennium Academy
Michael HADINGHAM – St Georges College
David MAONGA – St Georges College
Patrick PLUNKET – Hilton College, RSA
Rory PLUNKET – Hilton College, RSA
Richard SAMPSON – Hunyani Boat Club

Lorryn BASS – Chisipite Senior
Holly BICKNELL – Peterhouse Girls
Stacey DUNSTAN – Peterhouse Girls
Savannah HENDRICKSE – Arundel
Tarryn HINDE – Chisipite Senior
Erin SOPER – Chisipite Senior

Developmental squad

Doné ERASMUS – Peterhouse Girls
Sophie LE BOULENGE – Peterhouse Girls
James Weller – Peterhouse Boys


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here